top of page

Chapter 1: Teaching with Your Mouth Shut

In this first chapter, titled after the book, Finkel challenges his readers' preconceived notions of what meaningful learning consists of and precisely what role a teacher takes in making this happen. Rather than lecture his readers on how the act of "telling" hardly results in meaningful and enduring learning, he asks us to consider one to three of our most significant learning experiences, where and when they take place and whether an actual teacher was involved.

For me, my experiences generally don't involve a classroom or a teacher. They are usually the result of emotionally charged situations that directly impacted my understanding of the world around me as well as my long term life strategies. These experiences are not associated with any traditionally academic setting or situation, but have taken place within the context of my personal life while adversely affecting my approach to my academic and professional life.

I will pose the same question to you that Finkel asks of his readers. What comes to mind for you when considering your most significant learning experiences? Do these experiences involve a classroom or a teacher? If so, what role did that teacher play?


bottom of page